COMFORT

Draw-Linus-Van-Pelt-Step-7[1]

Our farm consisted of :  a barn-style shaped house on a hill overlooking the main country dirt road, 2 horses, a cow, some goats, as well as a newly constructed sawmill, offset and down the driveway. As I recall, milk was provided by a nanny goat that patiently put up with Daddy’s antics.  That day like everyday had been spent lovely teasing one another.  We would stand parallel to the goat’s body with our mouths wide open as Dad would shoot milk from it’s teats into our exposed targets from two feet away.  Giggles of glee and squeals of delight were heard as milk poured down our faces.  My older brother, Gordon was 4 1/2.  Later that afternoon, while dad and his business partner, Elwood were working diligently to get the mill running consistently, our blissful life ended abruptly by the sudden impact of a saw blade to Dad’s face.  He was killed instantly.  Elwood exclaimed loudly, “Judy, Run and get your mom as fast as you can!”  As I sprinted up the driveway as fast as a three and a half year old can race, I screamed “Mommy, Mommy, Daddy’s hurt.”  After entering the house, mom’s frantic exit had left my butt planted on the floor.  My body had propelled her like a rocket off its launch pad.  She ordered me to stay with the baby!  After the initial shock, I picked myself up, as I’ve done many times since that horrible February afternoon in 1974.  Grief has come and gone often since that event. Many loved ones, such as my best friend, my brother, uncles, grandmas, grandpas have died.  Learning to deal with grief has been essential for my well being.   At age four, sucking my thumb was my preferred form of self-comfort.  Although, I accepted Jesus as my Savior at age eight, I didn’t become aware of His Spirit as my Comforter until much later in life.  I’ve now seen the evidence of this truth: ” all things work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose”.  He has given me the gift of comfort and counsel so that I may help sooth others pain.  May God bless you even in your times of grief so you may bless others.

Leave a Reply

