Forgiveness

Easier said than done due to humble pie not tasting very good. In my experience however, it does get easier to stomach after you eat enough of it.  It’s possible that God actually sweetens it for us depending on how receptive we are to seeking forgiveness.  As well as being the perfect teacher, He also has a good sense of humour.  Sometimes, all I have to say is something sarcastic and I can feel that “Oh Oh!!”  in my soul and visualize God offering up a big slice.  Asking forgiveness is easier for me than forgiving others.  My friend said that I don’t have to forgive those who don’t ask for it.  After contemplating that thought, I’ve decided he must be wrong.  Keeping garbage in your soul starts to stink.  The Word says that the godly are like a sweet aroma to those who are seeking Him.  I want to smell like a pecan mudslide from Dairy Queen.  Not everyone loves mudslides as much as I do and some even hate them but I can live with that.  Different strokes for different folks.  Seriously though,  forgiveness is often a repeated  process depending on the level of hurt a person may have caused us.  Praying for that person the way that you want to be prayed for is very helpful even if you don’t mean it at first. Don’t forget to confess those negative thoughts to God as it has a cleansing effect on your heart. He will guide you to the place where you can love the perpetrator despite their infraction(s).  The benefits of forgiveness far outweigh the consequences of unforgiveness.  Practice makes perfect.

Leave a Reply

